Skip to content

Cardfight!! Vanguard Custom Deck Box – First Attempt

26/11/2011

Final Turn!

Recently I stepped into the world of cards again although this time I bought original cards instead of those fakes you can find in any discount shop around here. It was due to AFA 11 that I decided to get trial decks from Cardfight!! Vanguard as there was a pre-release for the English version. I’ll save the story for this one once I post up my Singapore 2011 trip later on. =P

Today I felt like making a deck box for my deck as I’m currently using the box is came with to carry it around. Not only it is bulky, it isn’t very nice to bring it around with. With a tight budget after my trip to Singapore, I crafted a simple deck box using just an A4 paper. The thicker the paper, the better it would be.

What you’ll need;

  • A4 paper, best if >120gsm. I used a 70gsm paper for now as I’m still testing this out.
  • Ruler, measurements in inches.
  • Sharp, accurate scissors OR shard, accurate pen knife with a good cutting mat.
  • Thin double sided tape OR glue. Double sided tape is more favorable and what I used.
  • Printer, if you want to give it some printed design.
  • Photoshop and Lightroom for designing and printing.

Step 1

Inner portion.

This is roughly what the measurements for my layout in mind. I did an earlier one but that didn’t turn out too well once put together.

Step 2

Outer portion.

‘X’ marks the spot where you can put a design of your choice. Anything not labeled with ‘X’ will be folded inside. I didn’t take a photos for a real step-by-step guide so I hope, if you wanna try this, it is self-explanatory enough. ^^;

Step 3

Folding test. Looking good. =D

So… if you want to design it, which is why the folding is not so symmetrical, it should look something like this;

Step 4

I didn’t do any cutting guidelines here so I had to do some manual cutting lines for myself. I think it becomes quite clear on how the folding goes from the colorful reproduction above, I think. >.>

Final Turn!

End result~

The top flap isn’t very secure so make sure you don’t tilt this simple deck box upside down or sideways unless you want your cards to spill out. I still need to go through the layout and design some more than this. Maybe add something to lock the top flap using magnets is a good idea but I’ll need to find those. Anyone knows where they sell small magnets in Kuching?

This works for now at the very least. XP

Random Note: I didn’t print ‘borderless’ for the printed test so the end result shrunk a bit from the actual measurement. Luckily it still roughly fits the deck inside, even if it pokes out a little. The deck inside is a fully proxy’d Shadow Paladin deck.

Shadow Paladin Deck (Proxy)

Note: None of these cards are real cards and this deck is only made for testing to see whether I really want to construct a Shadow Paladin deck or not as it is rather costly to be effective. ^^;;;

That’s all for now. Those who want to try and what I spewed out above isn’t clear enough, comment away~

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Abby permalink
    12/01/2012 6:27 pm

    how long is all that mesurement in cm

  2. 13/01/2012 12:52 am

    Use this: http://www.manuelsweb.com/in_cm.htm

  3. Abby permalink
    18/01/2012 4:39 pm

    No use but thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

