Skip to content

Robot Damashii 00 Qan[T] Quick Review

24/12/2010

Since I’m feeling like it and have the opportunity to use the WiFi over at Centre Point Sabah McDonalds, I shall.

Note: All photos are taken with my Samsung Cham(pion) phone camera @ 1.3MP at a room in the Promenade Hotel Apartment (Kota Kinabalu, Sabah) in the early afternoon. Sorry for not mentioning this earlier. The walls sure have a nice texture. XD (My normal camera was away at the KK zoo.)

Price: 3500 Yen

The 00 Qan[T] is the next generation Twin Drive System equipped Gundam in the 00 universe piloted by Setsuna F. Seiei in the A wakening of the Trailblazer 00 Movie. Saying anymore about this one will give too much spoilers. Watch the movie, get hooked and read the Animesuki forum posts by SonicSP in the Gundam sub-forum. Yep. Okay, continue with the quick review (hopefully it can be spoiler-free)!

Box

The box is about the usual size I’d say.

Box Open!

Also comes with a flexible rubber composite V-fin, as usual, but you’ll lose the nice looking green forehead crystal if you use it.

Two sword “tips” as one is to enable you to make the combined sword formation.

All the hands you would need. The special right hand to hold the sword, two normal holding hands and open palms. The last part on the right is to enable this figure to connect to the Tamashii Stage 5.

The green is oh-beautiful.

The sword bit holders. Need to get a Tamashii Stage 5 (or any of such base) though…

Reading this will tell anyone how the figure works. Don’t worry, I believe the visuals is good enough if you can’t read any non-English words on it. ^^;

Center Stage!

Articulation & Gimmicks

I can’t really show much with my phone camera but I hope the following action poses with give you all a good idea how good it is. :)

The articulation is as anyone would expect from a 00 figure. All around great but I wish the legs can go higher since the design limits it here. The design also limited the elbow bend also but that should be obvious.

The stomach area looks a bit hollow but is pretty articulated.

The neck has a nice range.

Every model/figure can do this nowadays.

Kneeling is okay I guess. Could be better though.

There are some movable pegs for the “shield” as well as for one pair of Sword Bits.

GN Sword V Buster Sword Mode. More on this in “Action!”.

Turning and orienting the parts as per the manual allows the two GN Drives to connect with one another. Useful for sudden power increases (Quantum System) and dashing purposes.

Action!

RAISER SWORD!!!

GN Sword V Buster Rifle Mode.

Note: The Buster Sword/Rifle Mode configuration is quite heavy so you may need to use a stand or be creative when posing with it.

This was an advertised gimmick for the MG version of the 00 Qan[T] so I decided to try it on the Robot Damashii version as well. It technically isn’t the same but it can somewhat do it. ^^

Attempt to make it “fly”. XP

Conclusion

Pros

  • Stiff and sturdy
  • Very firm and balanced, it can stand firmly with the added “weight” on the left side (shield binder)
  • Can somewhat hold the Buster Sword/Rifle configuration
  • Good paint job
  • Good set of armaments
  • Comes with the option hand in the lineart, finally!
  • Comes with stand parts to hold the Sword Bits

Cons

  • Can be too stiff out of the box
  • Like most models/figures with heavy weapons, it can’t really hold up the Buster Sword/Rifle properly
  • There was a random defect on mine where the left rear knee cap is loose, the right side was fine however

Overall, it is a great figure! As expected of the Robot Damashii line. It hasn’t disappointed me yet. The colors are good and the paint does not bleed, very well done. The overall stiffness may be a little annoying at first because you might think that that part cannot move although it can. Handle it slowly and patiently and all should be “alrighty”. :D

That’s all for now, until the next review. I may make a full review for this later on when I have a stand available to use.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 24/12/2010 4:28 pm

    Looks pretty interesting… Although I must say, the model kit’s proportions look better…

    • 24/12/2010 8:11 pm

      Robot Damashiis tend to look a bit off sometimes since, if I’m not wrong, is done by a totally department in Bandai. Nonetheless, this variation comes with the best set of armaments and looks pretty fine to me. ^^ Then again… mmm MG.

  2. 24/12/2010 4:59 pm

    looks pretty good :D but im towards the plamo one, still dont have heart for a figure (lol) and plus i need a HG OOQ to slash up a large ELS. dont say the MG.failed c-clamp means no XD

    • 24/12/2010 8:12 pm

      For you is alright, you can always mod the hand connection (and other parts). LOL

  3. Melv permalink
    24/12/2010 5:41 pm

    Hmmm…as expected from the Damashii line series. They do have great colour accuracy. Love the green spot. But product defect…is always unavoidable at times. It happens to my Kiwami Tamashii Kamen Rider S.I.C 555. The left leg was loose but the other was just nice.

    And great articulation from Damashii as well. So far I have three Damashii on my shelves. Two are limited edition.

    This one what you have here…is seriously a no regret on getting it. Especially for Exia fans. I’m more to the OO types. My only Exia is the HG 1/144 Avalanche Exia. Fell in love with its bulky yet simple designs.

    • 24/12/2010 8:14 pm

      Yeah, product defect is unavoidable. Luckily it was just a minor one. :)

      Heh, I have quite a few already thanks to they quite irresistible gimmicks and feels very worth it. Now that I think about it, my RD collection is growing steadily lately… o.o

  4. 25/12/2010 8:48 am

    Looks like not just my camera likes to focus the wall. XD

    Quite impressive the range of motion but… They’re a bit smaller than the 1/144…

    • 26/12/2010 10:03 pm

      Forgot to mention that all these photos were taken with my phone camera. XD

      The range of motion, from what I’ve experienced, the usual Robot Damashii articulation. The designers just can’t make the front skirts and the hips work together well… IMHO. I’m still getting the HG though and will definitely make a comparison and maybe use the Sword Bits stand with it too. :D

  5. 25/12/2010 7:23 pm

    I wan it can u giv me? lol jkjk

  6. 26/12/2010 9:20 am

    looks interesting.
    still confused whether to build or not the MG Qant

    • 26/12/2010 10:07 pm

      Just build it. There isn’t a reason why you shouldn’t. :)

  7. chubbybots permalink
    26/12/2010 10:52 pm

    Haha well if i am not into building model kits I would have went for the Damashi lines. The only one I have is a bonta kun but its really fantastic.

    What I love about this is the stand for the shield bits. I noticed you didn’t post any pictures of that.

    • 27/12/2010 1:23 am

      Going to since I didn’t have a stand on me while I was at Kota Kinabalu, Sabah. XP
      The post on that will be up soon, real soon. So, stay tuned. :D

  8. Gundamfan99 permalink
    30/06/2011 1:19 pm

    Hi, I also have one 00Q RD, haha. My 00Q’s leg is ok, but its left elbow is too stiff which make it hard to swing left and right. Sometimes, it tend to take off if i overuse my strength to swing it, haha, but overall, its a great unit.

Leave a Reply

