Skip to content

Anime Festival Asia 2010 (AFAX) – Day 1 – Part 1

19/11/2010

This was my second day in Singapore and the first day of the event that made me come all the way there!
Note: I’ll split the first day into two parts due to the number of photos.

On the previous night, me and my friends spent the night chatting away until pretty late in the night. Luckily, it didn’t impede us for the next day, well, except one of us who came later since she wanted to sleep in some more. Luckily for her, I promised to get the tickets for her as well. The one annoying thing here to note was the fact that they couldn’t get the tickets on Friday even though they went to collect their Anisong tickets (one of my friend’s only bought for Sunday so she didn’t get the festival + stage pass for Saturday). Because of that… well, keep reading.

We woke up pretty early. I kinda slept in and woke up at 6.40AM. I quickly showered and we went off from the hostel by 7AM. We used the MRT to City Hall and used the underpass towards Suntec Exhibition Hall. But, before that, we had a quick breakfast – toast. After filling ourselves with some required nourishment, we went to the exhibition hall 401 & 402 to be surprised by a very long queue…

 

Look! A Line!

OMG... I have to line up downstairs already...

Worse for people who came later for me though...

Most people has something to preoccupy them with. I saw many PSPs and no DS but mine. O.o

A rubbish bin was used to mark the curve of the long queue...

We were surprised by a really darn long line and we came there by 8AM, an hour before the event actually starts! My friends who fortunately bought the Anisong concert tickets do not need to line up but unfortunately for me, I had to. Luckily, I was prepared and waited with a DS in hand. Everyone one else either chatted away with their friends and played their PSPs or iPhones. I saw a lot of PSPs and iPhones while waiting in line. o.o

After dragging myself through the line, I finally purchased my tickets for that day and the next and entered the halls by 9.20AM. Talk about long waiting time. D:
I bought the full festival and stage access passes for both days which cost me $GD15 each. ^^;

As I entered the halls, I saw many DSLRs everywhere. Looks like almost everyone are quite capable in Singapore. Then again, considering the event I am at that moment, it shouldn’t come to a surprise to anyone. My puny low range digi-cam felt inferior though. ^^; Nonetheless, it makes do for quick shots to remind me of where and what I’ve done.

There are a lot of displays all around from various companies such as Bandai, Good Smile Company, Bushiroad and so on but sadly some of the newer releases such as the Robot Damashii 00 Qan[T] weren’t available for sale at the time. According to this blog post, it seems they are clearing old stocks. Hmm… The movie limited clear HG 00 Qan[T] was offered but its crazy high price tag is really… unbearable. I seriously only liked the special box for it so I didn’t pull my wallet to buy it. Technically speaking, if you’re here for the sake of buying “specially discounted” items, make sure you account the cost of entering the area first unless you come back with a “dai-haul” which makes it more worthwhile to come. That’s what I think so I bought some stuff that I like and felt like it isn’t a waste to buy. XD

Gashapons! *_* Too bad I didn't spam... or was that a good thing?

Poor less known game on ther right.

Too bad my shot was a bit blur here... some of you may like this. XD

Kamen Rider! *_*

King Form~ <3

"My strength will make you cry!"

I see two Kivas.

Is Momotaros... doing a Lelouch pose?! o.O

You can take a chance and see how you fare in voice dubbing here!

Can it go TRANS-AM? XD

Guns!

3D studio thing. Bringing people into 3D TVs!

Line up for the School Days Maid Cafe!

A Mirai-chan Itasha!

The butler cafe next to the maid cafe. Too bad it's more closed up so harder to take photos from afar. ^^;

As I walked around the place with my friend, we bought some phone straps and a T-Shirt. What I bought will be disclosed in my final posting of this rather long series of my trip to Singapore. :X Anyways, there were many exhibits and stalls selling goods everywhere. Not much actually comes to interest but if you want some of the nice stuff, you better be quick so you won’t be behind a long line or come at the point where the stocks of the item you want finished. We planned the night before so we got what we wanted. There was some more phone straps I , well, my sister wanted to get but I couldn’t buy them (which makes my wallet sweats less as well). I can try to wait in line but I need to be in the stage area by 12Noon or else I’ll miss the 00 Movie which I really wanted to see.

You can’t take photos at the maid and butler cafe unfortunately but that could be due to obvious reasons. I didn’t go there on this day but went there on the next day. More on that later on. There were only three itashas in the hall. My personal favorite is of course the Gundam 00 one. XD There was also a Japanese technology space at the top left corner showing… Segways, in a different name. I didn’t look at the place closely though since I was short on time and the crowds was killer. There was simply too many people!  (More photos of the stall areas in the next part before I comment on the stage area and the 00 Movie.)

To be continued…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 19/11/2010 12:09 am

    You came an hour before and the queue is THAT long. They must’ve camped there to be early. XD

    Can’t wait till your next post. =D

    • 19/11/2010 1:42 pm

      I wonder if anyone did… then again, how else would they be at the front of the line?
      Next post maybe today… spoilers ahoy!

  2. 19/11/2010 8:04 am

    long queue is long….surely AFA is a happening event

    • 19/11/2010 1:43 pm

      Yeah, it is. The “biggest” anime related event in this region of Asia. ^^

  3. 19/11/2010 1:34 pm

    wait a sec……… u wake up 7am juz to go AFA? lol

    • 19/11/2010 1:40 pm

      Yeah, since I couldn’t get the tickets before THE day. x.x
      Otherwise, we would go a bit later… :/

  4. 19/11/2010 7:13 pm

    If a car can go Trans-am,that’s totally nuts…XD

  5. 20/11/2010 9:32 am

    that dubbing made me interesting…did u tried it?

    • 20/11/2010 10:18 am

      I didn’t, unfortunately. ^^;
      I kinda wanted to do it but didn’t do it in the end. I did want to do it on the second day but… (more of that in a later posting)

Trackbacks

  1. Quick Post: Singapore 2011 – Day 3 – AFA 11 Day 2 « Randomness X4

Leave a Reply

