Skip to content

Nintendo DS The Sims 3 First Impressions

28/10/2010

OMG, me doing another first impression on another game review?! XP

A few years back, 2008, when The Sims 3 was released for the PC, I was pretty interested in the new stuff especially in the ability to freely chose the traits of your Sims. This made customization more complex and more free. I’m not really an avid Sims player though, I just play a bit when I feel like it. My sister plays more than me but I mostly like to build houses overall. Nonetheless, I enjoy controlling Sims and see how I can macro-manage a “virtual people’s” life.

Then, not too long ago EA announced a widespread console release on ever single current generation console, even the 3DS gets a nod (IIRC) but that won’t be released anytime real soon. When I did, I tried to play the older The Sims 2 on the NDS but couldn’t really get into it since it doesn’t feel the same as the PC version.

Fast as certain releases come, the necessary stuff arrived on the release date itself although it is the European version. No problems there since it is in English and works on the Wood R4 1.14.2 firmware as well as the Desmume (may need good computer). After running it on my NDSL successfully, I was impressed at how close it was, unlike its predecessor, to the PC version. It isn’t as extensive as the PC version but after playing with it a bit, it really feels like a Sims PC game on the go, thanks to the touch interface which definitely gives props to the way the game works.
EDIT: Use Wood R4 1.15 instead since the AP for this game causes problems with your Sim’s need meter.

Taking a tour will give you a nice short tutorial on the basics that will give you enough insight for playing.

When I first started up the game on my NDSL, I noticed the game to be slightly laggy. It could be because the graphics of the game to be quite high (for the NDS) or it could be EA developed it to work with a NDSi which spec-wise, is slightly faster than the older NDSL/NDS. The slight lag isn’t a trouble though since it is not that noticeable, could just be me nitpicking, but those who want to run it off an emulator may feel some annoyance, at least on the Desmume which I tested on.

Like the PC version, you can either create your own Sim or play a pre-created one with his/her own story. I picked to make my own Sim to see how good customization goes for this game. To my amazement, it is actually quite good.

Customization is extensive enough for your imagination to play with.

I was totally surprised when I opened the menus for customization. There are really a lot of options! Past Sim games didn’t offer as much as this in terms of customization so this is a very welcomed upgrade. As said before, graphics has also been bumped up. You can also use the stylus to modify the facial structure manually. Yes, manually!

You can buy a fully furnished house, an unfurnished house or an empty lot.

There are quite a number of houses to pick from. You can’t build your own town but you can build the houses! If you’re a person who likes building houses in The Sims, you can have fun on the NDS version as well. I’m probably going to try building my own house later on when I have ample of free time since I really spend quite the number of hours when building one. It’s fun if you like stuff like that. ^^

During loading screens, you will get some tips on gameplay.

After you create your Sim, only one unfortunately, and picking your house, you’re ready to play! (You can get more Sims when your Sim gets a room mate/married or if you play a couple for the already made Sim households.)

Pictures speaks louder than words.

Sorry for the large wall of screenshots. Anyways, you’ll control your Sim via the touchscreen of the NDS. The top screen will display some of your Sim’s details cycled through L and R shoulder buttons. You can move the screen with the stylus but I felt it to be faster and easier to use the buttons instead.

The game will technically work like the PC version with the touch screen. Tap and you’ll get options on what you can do with the object/Sim selected. Start will open the menu on the last screenshot. Select will pause the time so you can stack your Sim’s actions and so on. You know, I should have given this Sim some sunglasses… yeeeeaaaahhhhh!

Color me impressed! EA really did their work this time. Even with the limits of the NDS hardware, they seem to be doing it right for this console release! I might be playing around with this a bit during my free time (I unfortunately don’t have much for now though). Then again, once I get that Solatorobo working, maybe not. XP

The game is good as far as I’ve messed around with. A few for days and we’ll see some fuller reviews but I give this one a thumbs up. =)

Pros

  • Touch screen utilized
  • Feels like a miniaturized PC version which is a GOOD thing
  • Great amount of customization
  • Good graphics

Cons

  • One household per save slot, max 3 slots
  • One town
  • Slightly laggy on NDSL
11 Comments leave one →
  1. 28/10/2010 10:50 am

    Haha….. Never liked the Sims….

  2. 28/10/2010 10:22 pm

    haha, I only played Sims on weekend/holidays, cause otherwise my normal life schedule could be in jeopardy XD

  3. henry permalink
    03/12/2010 1:34 am

    lol…..i love sims i have it on xbox but want it on dsi. u really convinced me untill i got to the only 1 sim part, so how do you get a roommate or married? plz reaply

    • 03/12/2010 11:52 am

      You have to invite some other outside Sim to your house or court them. You know, the usual. I haven’t had the time to play it that far but it should work like previous console Sims titles.

  4. jodie permalink
    05/01/2011 1:46 am

    hi can i make one sim in one house then crete another to live in a different house and get them to fall in love and move in togeter so i would have my own family which i creted or can my sims not mix with other sims i crete for the nds please help :)

    • 05/01/2011 5:03 pm

      Doesn’t look like that would work. I tried making another Sim in another save slot and I got a whole new town (since I didn’t see my other save slot Sim in the house I bought before). Unfortunately, you’ll need to get together with a computer generated spouse. ^^;

  5. Larissa permalink
    02/02/2011 10:48 am

    Hi,

    I have acekard 2i and NDSL, but i couldn´t play it. The game wouldn’t even start. Could you help me?

  6. Larissa permalink
    03/02/2011 7:50 am

    Thank’s. I’ll try that.

  7. Larissa permalink
    18/03/2011 5:38 am

    Hi,

    It took a while but I finally updated my acekard and The Sims 3 works just fine!

    Thank’s.

    • 21/03/2011 11:07 pm

      A bit late for me to reply, due to business, but that’s great to know!
      Hope you enjoy/ed playing it. :)

Leave a Reply

