Skip to content

Aizu KAI WIP – Hip Mod

30/07/2010

Cross-posting from here.

I’ll skip to the chase for this WIP and talk about the actual mod done. I’ll talk about the rest later on (just mostly sanding and super-gluing some parts) in a compilation post. I think most would like to know more about this, ne?

From my previous “works”, the most I’ve ever did were knee mods but this time, I’m going for a hip mod. I wanted to do it for the Astraea actually but I’ll need more resources if I were to mod it in such a way. However, after looking through the Reborns, I felt it was quite possible to be done upon the Aizu in a way that only required cutting, sanding, drilling and at most superglue (probably some epoxy now for reinforcement).

It wasn’t as straightforward as I thought but it does work out so far. Maybe with a little more adjustments it will become more studier but it is alright as of now. If anyone would like to try also, you may want to get some putty and some pla-plate to make the mod more “beautiful”.

This mod of mine is also not so “wallet friendly” since I’m sacrificing one 00 Gundam body in doing so as I’m using its pelvis/hip joints. If you have pla-plates, however, you can make your own instead.

First thing to do is to get some parts from 00 Gundam. 00 isn’t expensive at 1000 Yen so maybe you’ll be able to part with it fine. Other than that, if you were like me who bought 2 007S/G, then it should be okay to sacrifice one body.

The parts you’ll need. The polycaps used are PC1. If you want to try this mod out, I advise to get the polycaps from leftovers of already built kits.

Just build it like so. I super-glued the hip connection pieces to make it more solid. For those who have putty, I highly advise you to lengthen the circular hip connections’ pegs. This is because the it doesn’t reach deep enough as such which results in a less solid connection between the legs and hips for mine. It still can connect fine but just not as good as something which is built for it.

Instead of the default PC8, I’m changing it to a PC1. To make it more solid, super-glue this polycap AFTER drilling some needed holes. Read on.

Temporarily, put the two halves of the hip section together. HOWEVER, I advise you to drill the hole right in the middle instead. I was actually trying to follow the polycap’s location but it didn’t work as well as I hoped.

If you’re drilling manually, start from small to big so that it’ll be much easier and also help you to accurately measure the hole (by test inserting the 00 hip parts).

You MIGHT need to carve it in a bit to allow the polycap to “sink” in.

I’ll need to think of a way to cover this hole. I think I’ll use some of the thin plastic pieces for the runner labels.

Test fit and acticulation. Seems to be working so far but not solid enough. Well, it won’t fall of easily so I guess it is kinda solid in a way but after a few turns, it can pop off (but I guess that’s normal). Try not to drill the hole any bigger than you should so that it can help hold the connection as well.

Not so straight but it works. ^^;

Change PC3 with PC8. IT may help to increase the feet’s articulation. ;)

Didn’t put the knee parts on since they can break easily. I’m going to take the parts off later so it is best not to. ^^;

I did try to make the hip joints less “weak” with a bit more drilling and cutting but I should’ve just poke it in the middle from the beginning.

Now it is time for the pelvis section. For this part, just use the two white halves. Don’t use the gray part with the ball joints as we’re replacing it with the 00 pelvis joint to compliment the new hips.

There’s a hole there so, just stuff the PC1 polycap in. I think you won’t need to carve anything here even though I did try for an earlier idea but after some more fiddling, it wasn’t needed in the end. ^^;

Superglue the 2 white halves as well as the polycap to make it solid. You might need to use putty or epoxy to make it even more solid unless your superglue is really super. o.o

After one night to let it strengthen… I test fit the parts after the superglue hardened a bit last night actually hence why that part is there. Fear not, it isn’t stuck.

Huzzah, you can still turn it!

Note: For those who are more capable, it is better to place the polycap in the middle instead of at the rear like I did – which is more faster and easier to work with.

Then just build the rest of the pars as normal.

Lots of move-able armor parts there. ^^

After this not so safe mod attempt, I finally know why Bandai went with a ball connection instead… they didn’t have enough polycaps in one sheet… How… cheap. :/

Anyways, there isn’t much else to say than what I’ve typed so if you are willing to sacrifice and try this out, do it at your own risk. The risk isn’t all that high actually so maybe you can try it without much problems… except maybe financially. XP

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 30/07/2010 9:14 pm

    So THAT’S how you done it. >.<

    Since I have no kit to spare, so I'll pass. It looks could hurt…

    • 31/07/2010 3:38 am

      No recommended to those who don’t dare to do anything too extensive to their kits (especially for us straight builders). ^^;

  2. 30/07/2010 11:18 pm

    Hmm…my experience tells me that superglue can’t hold polycaps for a long time or rough handling…

    Epoxy putty would do the justice on it. =)

    • 31/07/2010 3:36 am

      Thus, I shall epoxy it!
      Thanks, now really feel like I should do it. ^^

  3. chubbybots permalink
    31/07/2010 1:17 am

    I won’t comment much on the mod, but I commend you on moving away from straight builds and attempting to mod your kit! Thats a big leap man!

    • 31/07/2010 3:30 am

      The mod technically doesn’t look nice but it was the best thing I could do without doing anything too extensive with what little stuff I have. ^^;
      Anyways, thanks. I’ve been thinking on doing it for a while already, mainly for the HG Exia variants, but I knew I’d need more than what I have if I were to do that.

      For now, I’m just trying this out on this kit since it felt quite possible to do without too much trouble. XP

  4. 31/07/2010 5:37 pm

    Looks pretty… Dangerous… And costly as well.

    • 31/07/2010 10:53 pm

      Not so dangerous but I guess it is dangerous still. ^^;
      As for the cost, well, depends on how many unused00s you have in your disposal. I mean, do I really need to make another 00 just because I wanted the extra set of sword for one single 00 hax config? =P

  5. 01/08/2010 10:43 pm

    from my experience, super-gluing the PC parts cant make the PC hold to its place stronger and longer. Btw, the leg extension is an awesome thing. Looks like you are resembles of ZD :D

  6. 03/08/2010 5:31 pm

    yep, superglue cant hold rubber parts well…experienced such when making the waist for my Guaiz. pretty nice one bro!

  7. 23/08/2010 8:46 pm

    wat a creative ideal to do!

Leave a Reply

