Skip to content

Spray Paint Try-Out #1 – Sanding & Sparkling Silver *UPDATED*

02/07/2010

Good thing I modded those knees now, eh? XD

Semester break is on and I have some plans, especially for Aizu Gundam. However, I dare not do it immediately on the planned kit, so, I decided to use an already built kit which seems easy to spray paint (no masking needed).

  • Super-glued the hips and the striker pack’s “tail”. Not really trying to hide the seams though but hopefully it works out fine.
  • Sanded the areas with nubs and scratched sections using a basic sandpaper. Quite smooth however.
  • Cleaned the parts with wet tissue before painting as per sbhboi’s suggestion.
  • Set up a painting “booth” using the box from my 32″ LCD TV. Works great.
  • Get and used a mask.
  • Sprayed using vegeta’s “burst” spray technique.
  • Left to dry for a while outside. Now kept in an unused room to let the paint set in better and let the smell “diffuse”.
  • Guess what kit I used, should be obvious, really. XP
  • Anyone remembered I said that I wanted to paint the main body some other color but can’t? Well, now I can. :D

Yep, that’s about it. This is my first time doing this on a model kit so I’m not expecting anything perfect but I really had fun… minus the smell.

I did try the “Black Flat” as well but I kinda messed up but the mistake doesn’t seem to be visible after everything is put back together though (not in the photos).

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/07/2010 7:56 pm

    That is a whole lot of bling for an MS… Luckily not as bling as the Hyaku Shiki, otherwise one might get eyes blinded temporarily…

    • 03/07/2010 7:13 pm

      I would really love it if I can spray colors like that… even though it can blind me temporarily. XD
      Otherwise, the spray paint was really good. :)

  2. 02/07/2010 10:14 pm

    Could you take more pics of your spray booth? I like to see it.^^ Coz I always spray outdoors.^^

  3. 02/07/2010 10:16 pm

    BLING BLING! Nice one~

  4. chubbybots permalink
    03/07/2010 8:57 am

    Haha good first attempt man!! Smell is always an issue that is why its best to do outdoors. Plus i use spray cans mainly…so much more convenient!

    I look through the video link haha…I also spray some what like that but more sparingly … :P

    • 03/07/2010 7:22 pm

      Thanks. ^^

      I think it must be done outdoors unless your room has some kind of awesome ventilation system or something to vent out the smell. XP

      Oh, et tu. Well, I did notice that I used quite a lot after I was done. The technique must be not so paint-saving-friendly I guess. =X

      • chubbybots permalink
        03/07/2010 11:29 pm

        Plus spray too much = moar money gone lol!!!!

  5. 28/06/2011 10:20 pm

    Wow great look on the gundam

Leave a Reply

