Skip to content

Kyan!me 2010 Impressions & Photo Spam

17/06/2010

Kyan!me was held at the Spring, Kuching from 8th of June to 13th of June with the major events being held only on the 11th to 13th. It was the “first major anime, manga and Japanese culture expo” in Kuching.

Okay, enough with the formalities, I’ll go one with how well the event was conducted and my impressions towards it.

WARNING! A huge photospam (gallery) is ahead of you! Make sure you have the bandwidth for this. ^^;

I didn’t manage to take a photo of all the award receivers near the end though due to the fact that my camera died around that time. I had to resort to my camera phone (which was the only alternative left at that point). :P

Expectations

Since this event was a “first”, my expectations weren’t high at all but some “promises” were not kept. It was said by one of the committees that the event area of Kyan!me will spread to other areas of the ground floor but sadly it did not happen. Well, it did have an extra area in front of the escalator nearby for side-events… maybe that’s what they meant but I doubt it.

Events

I don’t know how well all the events went but I do know some were done pretty chaotically and most of the time has bad time management. Late starts and late ends.

One good example is the Anime Race. I luckily did not enter as it does seem pretty annoying to do until the condition to “collect all the stamps” changed into “collect the most stamps”. It wasn’t technically possible to collect all the stamps within the period of 1 hour with these kind of conditions;

  • One shop at a time which being you can only go to the shop that is stated in your clue. You’ll get the next clue from that shop after you solve a simple quiz and search for stuff.
  • Only one team can enter a shop at a time (this was kinda relaxed after around 30 minutes into the race due to crowding the shops).

The most noticeable event happens to be any of the cosplay events which ended up being the major factor for this event. From what is observable, Kyan!me, in the end, relied quite heavily with the cosplay events (performances, skits, bands, etc). It isn’t such a bad thing but it show that the other events weren’t planned well enough since participation seem to be rather low (DDR had to be postponed to the next day for example).

Cosplay

As stated before, cosplay is the major part of this event which it technically shouldn’t be, not in its entirety,but that’s how it went. Cosplay ranged from decent to quite good (but due to them being experienced cosplayers which you may have seen in previous events before). Nonetheless, I was quite pleased with the performances done (I attribute that to the cosplayers’ efforts though instead of Kyan!me itself).

Inexperience

This was their first time so the committee and MCs of the event was… fairly lacking. Wrong names are sometimes called out (during cosplay performances) and time management (the most critical one). It is quite easily seen if you have been to other events similar to this. However, being their first time, it can be excused (I can’t say I can do better!). Thus, it is hoped that they will continue their efforts the next year and improve on their lack of experience some more.

Booths

A few booths were opened as can be seen through the large photospam and the painting/sand-art booth was the most popular while the Japanese’s club (forgot actual name) booth was visually second with their free to try Yukatas. ^^

Overall, the event was so-so. It wasn’t anything amazing but it did make me feel like going there for 3 days (but mostly due to the cosplay…). I had my fun but that was very heavily attributed to me wanting to take some photos and videos. XD

If you want to see the videos I’ve taken, here is my newly created Youtube channel with some of the cosplay performances captured on a digicam!

That’s all for now~ ^^

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 17/06/2010 2:03 pm

    Rocking! you had a fun…great

  2. 17/06/2010 2:05 pm

    Dude, you got a “funny” link in the paragraph before Booth topic.

    • 17/06/2010 2:22 pm

      Ah, thanks for telling me. ^^
      Wonder how it got there. XP

  3. 17/06/2010 4:51 pm

    Great coverage~!

    wha? what link? lol

    • 19/06/2010 6:05 pm

      Thanks. Nah, its nothing “bad”, just the link to making a new post was accidentally copied into the post. X/

  4. chubbybots permalink
    18/06/2010 7:55 am

    Ah some of the K on girls look pretty haha!! But heh at least its a start! Hopefully they will learn from their mistakes and do a better one next year!

    • 19/06/2010 6:07 pm

      Haha. Well, as they improve, it will definitely benefit Kuching. :D

  5. ロストロシアお嬢さま permalink
    18/06/2010 11:04 pm

    Nyo~ Can I have the ori copy of your photos, ne~ Onegaishimasu… =)

    • 19/06/2010 6:04 pm

      You want how “original”? As in the actual sized ones before I resized? Or after resize? The ones you see in this post is after resize and watermark. XP

      If its after resize, I can send via email easily. ^^

  6. Chris permalink
    21/06/2010 10:37 am

    I don’t mind seeing the same cosplayers at most such events in Kuching, but it’s kinda annoying if they used the same cosplay again and again, if you know what I mean.

    • 21/06/2010 7:32 pm

      Yeah, I get what you mean. My friends expressed the same sentiments. Then again, cosplay ain’t cheap so we can’t say much. ^^;

  7. Model Zero X permalink
    13/08/2010 6:44 am

    Wow, I guess you really did mean it when you said huge photo spam…

Leave a Reply

