Skip to content

NG 1/100 Gale Strike Gundam… CUSTOM! WIP2!

11/02/2010

Phew! I’m done with the technical stuff! This one is just one crazy attempt at a custom color scheme and a simple mod at the legs. Why I consider it crazy? Read on to find out.

F Runner

A Runner

Why am I showing these runners? Well, I’ll be doing some more “COLOR CHANGE”! This time, orange to… light red! Actually I intended for a darker red but the paint was in a lighter shade of red… ah well! It works for me anyways!

RED PAINT!

MORE RED PAINT!

You may be wondering now… why do I call this a crazy custom job? Well…

I USED THESE! XD

I used the oil based paint from these two markers and used normal painting brushes to do it all! o.o
Besides that, I tried to use some nail polish to wipe off any unwanted painted areas… didn’t use it much anyways.

ITS SMILNG?!

Pure accidental… how’d that happen? >_>
(It’s not “smiling” anymore BTW… since this was between two painting sessions.)

PREVIEW!

Here’s a preview of the final result… It doesn’t look at all constant, especially the red paint (kept drying on me especially on large surfaces) but it doesn’t look half bad in real life (IMO). ^^;

That’s basically all the paint work. Some may need some extra attention as I didn’t completely paint them. ^^;
Next up… the small minor mod that any person can do if he or sh dares to cut something that costs 2500 Yen.

Legs...

Zoom up...

These parts here… I’m gonna do a little surgery on the little back sections of the armor. It sadly makes the inner parts shown though as NGs don’t have inner frames but who cares? I want articulation on my huge sword slashing MS! >D

ARTICULATION GET!

Now it can bend THAT far! Yes! Success! This has been haunting me for a while and I was dying TO ACTUALLY CUT IT! >D
Booyah!

Alright, that’s all for the WIPs, I really did this all in one day. Then again, this is a very quick and cincai job that I don’t recommend anyone to attempt unless you’re as random and spontaneous as me. XP But, hey, I’m pretty satisfied so far, so I guess it works out, eh? Maybe I’ll do a better mod (or an actual one) in the future when I get usual and better tools (hopefully).

Technically, I spent many hours non-stop on this guy. I even skipped dinner. o.o I started at roughly 3pm until 8pm.. ^^; Burning spirit > ALL BOUNDARIES.

I haven’t finished building him but don’t hope for a usual review as I didn’t photoshoot some steps properly but I might as well, eh?

(Now I’m kinda hungry…)

EDIT:

Almost Complete!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/02/2010 9:52 pm

    Argh! Dangerous surgery! I wouldn’t dare to cut on something like that….. unless it is tt hongli :D XD

    • 12/02/2010 12:16 pm

      Sometimes you just gotta do it for the sake of articulation! >D

  2. 11/02/2010 9:53 pm

    so, you do chat with doing this progress…
    Okay will see the finished products then hahaha..

  3. 11/02/2010 9:57 pm

    oooowoowowoow…

    i want a gale strike…but at local store there’s only hail buster and regen duel…..

    • 12/02/2010 12:17 pm

      That’s weird. Normally I see all of them un-touched over here. It’s like I’m the only who’s buying one of them so far. XD

      • 12/02/2010 8:06 pm

        thats not it…
        most probably the store only ordered for hail and regen…but me want gale…

      • 12/02/2010 9:30 pm

        That’s kinda sad that the shop didn’t order Gale…

  4. 12/02/2010 1:12 am

    LOL Looks nice so far ;D the only thing that matters is if you like it yourself ^^

    • 12/02/2010 12:18 pm

      Thanks! Well, yeah, I am quite happy with the results. ^^

  5. 12/02/2010 10:53 am

    nice.

    oh yeah, what blog is your main blog?
    do I need to track this blog too aside your blogspot?

    • 12/02/2010 12:21 pm

      Thanks. ^^

      The Blogspot one is currently my main one. Since this one was a really random occurrence (and I didn’t want to push the Unicorn review far down as I wanted you all to read the comic strip), I decided to post it here instead. If you don’t mind, you can track this blog as well but the updates can be… very random. XD

  6. chubbybots permalink
    12/02/2010 3:02 pm

    No worries :D I got rss for both of your blogs even if you post at random i’ll still see haha!! Nice work man! Maybe just rework the red a bit will do !

    • 12/02/2010 3:18 pm

      Haha. I can’t really rework the red much. Don’t really much of anything to make it any better. XP

  7. keionfan permalink
    12/02/2010 6:17 pm

    Nice colour scheme,hmmm it is so nice already next is decal or more detail? Just need to wait for the next part.

Leave a Reply

